State First Time Home Buyer Tax Credit for 2014

tax credit

The first time home buyer tax credit was a program that was available for homes purchased as your primary residence between April 2008 and May 2010. Under that federal program, first time home buyers got a tax credit equal to 10 percent of the purchase price of their home, up to a max of $8,000.

That federal program was allowed to expire, so there is no federal first time home buyer tax credit available as of 2014. Fortunately, there are state-based first time home buyer programs that can help fill that void.

These programs and tax credits vary from one location to another, but the definition of a first-time home buyer is the same everywhere. If you have never owned a home, or haven’t owned a home in the last 3 years, you qualify as a first-time home buyer.

The programs listed below are statewide programs for the 50 states. These are subject to change, and there may be more programs available at the state, county and city level. Using the HUD web portal to research state information is a great way to ensure the programs you’re researching are legitimate.

Alabama: The Alabama Housing Finance Authority offers a Mortgage Credit Certificate for first-time home buyers.

Alaska: The Alaska Housing Finance Corporation offers a Tax-Exempt First-Time Home Buyer Program.

Arizona: The Arizona Department of Housing

Arkansas: The Arkansas Development Finance Authority manages the HomeToOwn Program for first time home buyers.

California: The California Housing Finance Agency offers assistance. has First-Time Home Buyer Education for Southern California residents.

 The Colorado Housing and Finance Authority offers Mortgage Credit Certificates for 1st time home buyers.

 The Connecticut Housing Finance Authority offers various programs for first-timers.

 Delaware has a First-Time Home Buyer Tax Credit administered by the Delaware State Housing Authority.

Florida: The Florida Housing Finance Corporation
 hosts a First Time Home Buyer Wizard to direct you to local programs.

Georgia: The Georgia Dream Homeownership Program

 The Hawaii Housing Finance and Development Corporation

 The Idaho Housing and Finance Association offers the “Finally Home®” program

The Illinois Housing Development Authority manages Welcome Home Illinois.

 The Indiana Housing Community Development Authority offers various programs.

 The Iowa Finance Authority administers the FirstHome Program.

Kansas: The Kansas Housing Resources Corporation offers home buyer assistance.

Kentucky: The Kentucky Housing Corporation administers a Home Buyer Tax Credit.

The Louisiana Housing Corporation is the place to start. The Louisiana Recovery Authority also offers some programs.

 The Maine State Housing Authority runs the First Home Program.

 The Maryland Mortgage Program through the Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development helps eligible home buyers.

The Massachusetts Executive Office of Housing and Economic Development administers First Time Home Buyer programs for the state.

The Michigan State Housing Development Authority offers several programs.

 The Minnesota Housing Finance Agency offers various programs.

 The Mississippi Home Corporation offers the Housing Tax Credit Program.

 The Missouri Housing Development Commission administers First Place Loans.

The Montana Board of Housing offers various programs.

 The Nebraska Investment Finance Authority offers First Home options.

 The Nevada Housing Division administers First-Time Home Buyer Programs.

New Hampshire:
 The New Hampshire Housing Finance Authority offers a Home Buyer Tax Credit Program.

New Jersey:
 The New Jersey Housing and Mortgage Finance Agency has special offers for First-Time Home buyers.

New Mexico:
 The New Mexico Mortgage Finance Authority offers special first mortgage programs.

New York:
 The State of New York Mortgage Agency offers Special programs for first time home buyers.

North Carolina: 
The North Carolina Housing Finance Agency offers a mortgage credit certificate.

North Dakota:
 The North Dakota Housing Finance Agency offers various programs.

 The Ohio Housing Finance Agency offers first-time home buyer programs.

 The Oklahoma Housing Finance Agency offers several home buyer programs.

 Oregon Housing and Community Services offers resources.

 The Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency

Rhode Island:
 Rhode Island Housing offers FirstHome and other options.

South Carolina:
 The South Carolina State Housing Finance and Development Authority has a Mortgage Tax Credit Program.

South Dakota: The South Dakota Housing Development Authority offers a Mortgage Credit Certificate.

 The Tennessee Housing Development Agency administers the Great Choice Mortgage Loan Program.

The Texas Mortgage Credit Certificate Program comes from the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs.

 The Utah Housing Corporation offers a home buyer programs.

The Vermont Housing Finance Agency offers a Tax Credit Program Overview.

 The Virginia Housing Development Authority offers special home buyer programs .

The Washington Housing Finance Commission offers a Mortgage Credit Certificate.

West Virginia:
 The West Virginia Housing Development Fund provides the state’s Homeownership Program.

 The Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority offers Home Buying resources.

Wyoming: The Wyoming Community Development Authority offers a first-time home buyer program.


No matter where you live, you can always call us for confidential, one-on-one housing counseling. We can help you figure out what programs you are eligible for and make sure you complete the application process correctly. We have HUD-approved housing counselors standing by.